Dark Chocolate Coconut Oil Brownies

There are few things that I like more than some good dark chocolate. I’d be lying if I said S and I didn’t split a bar of dark chocolate almost every night after dinner. But, we do, and this all goes back to my thoughts on a sustainable lifestyle. We LOVE chocolate and to do a “diet” that didn’t include it, would be unrealistic. Now I’m not saying to go out and eat all the chocolate, but having a small amount every night is less then terrible. 

Through my cooking and baking journey, I have fumbled and tested through a bunch of recipes to find the balance between yummy chocolate goodness and not terrible for your health. I’m not going to call this brownie recipe “healthy” per say because I don’t want to mislead anyone, but it’s a heck of a lot more healthy your average run of the mill brownie. And it’s stuffed with some gooey dark chocolate, whole wheat flour, natural honey and coconut oil so I call it a win. And it’s my staple for all office parties, pot lucks etc. I’ve never met a person who didn’t like them πŸ™‚ Without futher adieu… 

Dark Chocolate Coconut Oil Brownies

  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 cups cocoa powder
  • 3/4 cup cane sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups melted coconut oil
  • 6 eggs
  • 3/4 cup honey
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped dark chocolate 
  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and lightly spray a 17×9 glass baking dish 
  2. Whisk all dry ingredients together in a large mixing bowl. Once mixed add all wet ingredients and stir until just incorporated.
  3. Add chopped chocolate and stir until well mixed. 
  4. Add batter to prepared pan and use a spatula to smooth surface. 
  5. Bake approximate 30 minutes until the center is mostly cooked. I would stick to around 28 minutes if you like them a little more gooey at the center. Enjoy!! 


Check out ththe gooey dark chocolate πŸ™‚ Is your mouth watering yet?? 

*A lot of people ask why I use both sugar and honey… I have found that using all honey makes the brownies not rise as well and they are a little more dense. Baking with honey changes the consistency and texture of your baked goods.  I don’t like using all sugar because the honey is natural and is lower on the glycemic index. 

Leave a Reply

